Carry Concealed Weapon
Saline County Sheriff's Office Carry Concealed Weapon Application Process
Who is eligible for a permit?
You must be a citizen of the United States, a Saline County resident, and 21 years or older;
Cannot suffer from a physical infirmity, which prevents the safe handling of a weapon;
Never been convicted or placed on diversion (including as a juvenile), for an act that constitutes a felony under Kansas law;
During the last five years immediately preceding the date application is submitted you must not have been:
a mentally ill person or involuntary patient
committed for the abuse of a controlled substance
convicted or placed on diversion for an act under the provisions of the uniform controlled substance act (including as a juvenile)
committed for the abuse of alcohol
convicted or placed on diversion two or more times for an act that constitutes a violation of Driving Under the Influence
convicted or placed on diversion (including as a juvenile) for an act that constitutes a domestic violence misdemeanor
convicted or placed on diversion (including as a juvenile) in this or any other location, for an act that constitutes a violation for the Criminal Use of Weapons
You are not subject to a restraining order issued under the Protection From Abuse Act, or under the Protection From Stalking Act
You are not in contempt of court in a child support proceeding
You have not been dishonorably discharged from military service.
What paperwork do I need?
You must bring with you the following items:
A valid Kansas Driver's License or Non-Drivers Identification Card
Passport-type photo (approximately 2 inches by 2 inches) of an unobstructed, full frontal view of your head and shoulders, taken within 30 days of application. Your photo will not be accepted if you are wearing anything other than transparent eyeglasses
Certificate of Training in a form approved by the Attorney General or an affidavit from a certified instructor (the Attorney General's Office is currently compiling a list of certified instructors for posting on their website) (CLICK HERE )
Personal Check, Cashier's Check or Money Order for $100.00 payable to the Attorney General's Office
Cashier's Check or Money Order for $32.50 payable to the Saline County Sheriff's Office
Completed application form
Where can I get an application?
Download an application from the Attorney General's Website (CLICK HERE)
Saline County Sheriff's Office, 251 North 10th Street, Salina, KS, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm Monday thru Friday
I have all my paperwork, what should I do now?
Bring all of the required paperwork to the Saline County Sheriff's Office Tuesday thru Thursday between 9:00 am and 3:30 pm. You will be directed where to go to get fingerprinted.
Can out-of-state residents with a permit from that state get a Kansas permit?
Only Kansas residents can apply for a Kansas permit. If your state of residence has been granted reciprocity with Kansas you may be allowed to carry a concealed handgun in Kansas AFTER January 1, 2007. The Attorney General is compiling a list of states and that list should be available soon. However, NO ONE will be allowed to carry a concealed handgun until January 1, 2007.
Will I get a card to carry?
The Attorney General's Office will NOT issue any permits until January 2007. At that time you will be instructed by that office to go to a local Department of Motor Vehicle Station to get either a new driver's license or ID card with a Carry Concealed Handgun (CCH) endorsement, or a separate CCH card. You will be required to pay a fee for the card. In Saline County the drivers license office is located at 2910 Arnold, Salina KS. Phone 785.825.0321. Hours are Tuesday thru Friday 7:00 am to 5:45 pm.
Additional information can be found at the following web site "The Attorney General's Carry Concealed Web Site" You may also sign up to be on a mailing list for additional information.